08 - Jul : 2019

Bali's three main offshore islands will begin charging a tourist tax from Monday July 8.

Tourists arriving at Nusa Penida, Nusa Lembongan and Nusa Ceningan are required to pay, it is collected on arrival and valid for all three islands.

Nusa Lembongan in particular is a highly popular day trip destination for Bali tourists.

"Tourist should only pay one time to visit the three islands," said Klungkung Tourist Agency head Nengah Sukasta.

Nengah doesn't expect the imposition of a tourist fee to impact visitor numbers.

Funds will go towards improving the islands' infrastructure.

The fee doesn't affect visitors on the main island of Bali itself.

Other Articles